Archive by Author

Ni Private Greens BC-01

GP Committee Meeting 19th February

The GP Committee met at Belmont Bowling Club on Wednesday 19th February. The Honorary Treasurer provided an update on accommodation and anticipated expenditure for the 2020 Senior Inter-Association series to be held in Dublin on 8th and 9th May. In addition to reports from the League Secretary, Competitions Secretary and PRO, other matters discussed included […]

Ni Private Greens BC-01

Looking forward, Looking back

Looking forward to the start of the NIPGBL league fixtures in 75 days, we take the opportunity to look back and offer a snapshot of our organisation 75 years ago in 1945. President: J Ritchie (Cliftonville) Hon Sec: T Lemon (Willowfield) Hon Treas: W Montgomery (Knock) No association championships were played because of the ongoing […]

Ni Private Greens BC-01

GP Committee Meeting 19th December

President William Angus chaired the first meeting of the GP Committee since the recent AGM and welcomed, in particular, newly-elected members, Junior Vice President John Millar (Old Bleach), Gareth McKee (Ards) and David Graham OBE (Dunbarton). Matters discussed included proposed rules governing the new Junior Championships and issues related to the rules concerning the registration […]

Ni Private Greens BC-01

GP Committee 20th November

President JR Nicholl began the recent GP Committee by acknowledging the care and concern shown towards him by the NIPGBL family and the wider bowling fraternity during recent days and weeks. The last GP Committee meeting before the NIPGBL AGM at Pickie BC on Saturday 30th November at 130pm heard a positive review of the […]

Ni Private Greens BC-01

GP Committee Meeting 16th October

Among the matters discussed at the latest meeting were: the arrangements for the NIPGBL dinner on Friday 18th, potential Notices of Motion for the NIPGBL AGM on Saturday 30th November, the venues for future inter-association series, sanctions for teams who forfeited league matches last August, participation levels for starred players and lady players during the […]

Trophy 1

Minnis Trophy

The annual Minnis Trophy match between the NIPGBL and Kenilworth Bowling Club was held at Larne yesterday afternoon. In ideal conditions the NIPGBL regained the trophy after a closely contested game. Among the members of the winning side was NIPGBL Honorary Member Hugh Montgomery who was celebrating his 91st birthday on the day.