PRO snippet – AGM report

The NIPGBL AGM was held in the Ballymena BC this afternoon, was well attended and dealt with numerous notices of motion.

The outgoing President Sam Cunningham opened the meeting with a moments silence for those members who passed away this year including Hon Members Tom Sutton and Ronnie Harper.

Following the receipt of reports J R Nicholl (Ballymena) was elected as President with William Angus (Pickie) Senior Vice President and Peter McKnight (Ulster Transport) Junior Vice President.

The other officers were re-elected with Michael Nutt taking over as Public Relations Officer.

Colin Campbell (CI Knock) was awarded with a 10 year badge.

Following some discussion a notice of motion was passed which will open NIPGBL league and cup competitions to ladies. Some fine tuning will be required and a number of amendments will be brought before the Management Committee in March.

A number of notices were also discussed in relation to selection of players and the GP Committee will bring options to that meeting.

A new post of Webmaster has been created and will shortly be advertised by the GP Committee. Anyone interested should contact the Hon Secretary for a job description.

Clubs in Division 3 should note that they can now opt to enter either the Senior or Junior Cup – please note this on the entry sheet.

Long serving Treasurer Derek Forsythe was surprised and delighted to be in inducted as an Hon Member.

Owenbeg BC were re-admitted to the league.

J R Nicholl thanked everyone for attending, wished them a happy Christmas and looked forward to a successful and enjoyable 2019.