Archive by Author

GP Committee Meeting 17 April

The GP Committee heard reports from the Treasurer, League Secretary, Competitions Secretary and Public Relations Officer. Among further matters discussed were the outcome of the recent IBA Council meeting and arrangements for the inter-association series arising from a meeting of the NIPGBL selectors. Provision of markers and umpires for the NIPGBL Championship semi-finals and finals […]

Championships 2019

The draws for the 2019 NIPGBL Championships were made last night at Old Bleach Bowling Club. GP Committee members in attendance included President JR Nicholl and Honorary Competitions Secretary Mark Tait. The total number of entries received were: Singles 130, Pairs 113, Triples 72, Fours 48, Senior Fours 27, Junior Singles 34, Youth Singles 13. […]


Veterans Bowling League

NIPGBL President JR Nicholl attended today’s unfurling of the VBL flag at Balmoral Bowling Club. VBL President Robert McCullough (Antrim Lawn) unfurled the flag with NIBA President Tommy Cheevers and IBA Vice President Dan Dempsey also in attendance. We wish all the participants in the VBL an enjoyable season.

david and john

IBA President

The unfurling of the IBA flag took place today at Ards Bowling Club. IBA President David McCloy was joined by the Presidents of the four kindred associations and by David Graham OBE, the British Isles Bowls Council President. The NIPGBL wishes David an enjoyable and successful year in office. The photo shows David with the […]


NIBA President

On behalf of the NIPGBL, we congratulate the 2019 NIBA President Tommy Cheevers and extend to him and all the members of his association our best wishes for the new season. The photo shows the NIBA President with NIPGBL President JR Nicholl and Lady Sylvia Hermon MP at the unfurling of the NIBA flag at […]

Looking forward, looking back

With only 25 days to go to the first round of league fixtures, we take a final pre-season look back at the history of the NIPGBL, 25 years ago in 1994. President: S McKeown (Ballywalter) Hon Secretary: H Montgomery (Cavehill) Hon Treasurer: CE Gillett (Hilden) Competitions Secretary: D Irvine (Transport) League Secretary: T McIlvenna (Old […]

NIPGBL Meetings

A Management Committee meeting last night heard that the NIPGBL had approved a financial donation to the Bowls Ireland Regional Academies. Mark Tait was confirmed as the new Honorary Competitions Secretary. Emerging from discussion on the rule change to admit lady bowlers to league and cup competitions, it was felt that clubs planning to field […]

super 8 ways ultimate