Looking forward, looking back

With only 50 days to go now until the first round of NIPGBL league fixtures, we offer another snapshot of our history, 50 years ago in 1969.

President: TD Sutton (Cavehill)

Hon Secretary: WS McVeigh C de G (Salisbury)

Hon Treasurer: H Lutton (Cavehill)

Competitions Sec: J Scott (Belmont)

Falls completed the treble of IBA Senior Cup, PGL Senior Cup and PG League Division A. Forth River won League Division B, Willowfield won the PGL Junior Cup and Pickie won the IBA Junior Cup.

PGL Champions

Singles: A McConnell (NICS)

Pairs: A Smith, W Pimley (Falls)

Fours: T Branagh, R Jamison, JN McQuay, R Tosh (Knock)

7 points per match was adopted for the first time.

The NIPGBL won the senior inter-association series.

Ted Haslem (Shaftesbury) won his 50th international cap.

Ronnie Harper was appointed as bowling correspondent of the Belfast Telegraph and Ireland’s Saturday Night.

super 8 ways ultimate