Looking forward, Looking back

Looking forward to the start of the NIPGBL league fixtures in 75 days, we take the opportunity to look back and offer a snapshot of our organisation 75 years ago in 1945.

President: J Ritchie (Cliftonville)

Hon Sec: T Lemon (Willowfield)

Hon Treas: W Montgomery (Knock)

No association championships were played because of the ongoing war, but league and cup competitions continued.

League Division A Winners (15 teams): Ballymena

League Division B Winners (15 teams): North Belfast

PGL Senior Cup Winners: Cavehill

PGL Junior Cup Winners: North Belfast

IBA Senior Cup Winners: Willowfield

IBA Junior Cup Winners: Belmont

As the League expanded, the increasingly congested programme of fixtures meant that many bowlers regretted the loss of traditional friendly games,

super 8 ways ultimate