Looking forward, Looking back

With only 50 days to go now until the first round of NIPGBL league fixtures, we offer another snapshot of our history, 50 years ago in 1970.

President: JW Boyce (Comber)

Hon Secretary: JR Stirling MBE (Belfast)

Hon Treasurer: H Lutton (Cavehill)

Competitions Secretary: J Scott (Belmont)

The NIPGBL also provided the IBA President, JR Stirling MBE (Belfast) and the President of the International Bowling Board, R Thompson (Shaftesbury).

PG League Division A: Forth River

PG League Division B: Falls

PGL Senior Cup: Gallaher

PGL Junior Cup: Larne

IBA Senior Cup: Dunbarton

IBA Junior Cup: Shaftesbury

The inaugural PGL Triples championship was won by J Webb, A Smith, W Pimley (Falls).

PGL Singles: TC McGookin (NICS)

PGL Pairs: J Webb, JJ Donnelly (Falls)

PGL Fours: D Marshall, T Lindsay, R McBriar, WJ Norwood (Saintfield)

At the Commonwealth Games in Edinburgh, JJ Donnelly (Falls) and SJ Thompson (Willowfield) won bronze medals in the pairs, while E Gordon (Falls) won a bronze medal in the fours playing alongside J Higgins (YRCD), H Stevenson (Donaghadee) and WS Tate (Bangor).

The NIPGBL won the senior inter-association series.

super 8 ways ultimate